Monday-Friday: 8:30am to 5:30pm

Lyft services offer people a convenient and affordable way to get around town. Most people do not think about being involved in an accident while using Lyft services. The reality is that a rideshare accident can turn your world upside down, preventing you from doing the things that matter most.

Rideshare laws are often not straightforward. With Lyft rideshare liability laws varying from state to state, you may be overwhelmed by what steps should be taken to file a claim.

Our Albany Lyft accident lawyers have experience helping accident victims like yourself. If you have been injured in an accident caused by a Lyft driver’s negligence, you have rights under the law. Our legal team is available to answer any questions you may have and to help you begin your claim.

Lyft Accident Liability Insurance

Under New York law, Lyft is a Transportation Network Company (TNC). A TNC uses a digital network to connect passengers to rideshare drivers, making it subject to unique insurance regulations.

The following limits apply to a TNC vehicle operating in New York state:

Driver Logged into the App but Not Providing a Ride

If a Lyft driver is logged into the company’s digital network but not actively transporting a passenger, then the following insurance limits will apply:

  • $75,000 for bodily injury or death per person;
  • $150,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons; and
  • $25,000 for property damage.

Driver Actively Providing a Ride

If a Lyft driver is actively providing a ride, then the following insurance coverage will apply:

  • $1.25 million for bodily injury or death per person and property damage; and
  • $1.25 million of supplemental uninsured/underinsured (SUM) insurance and personal injury protection (PIP) “no-fault” insurance.

The Driver is Logged Off the App and Not Actively Working

If a Lyft driver is logged off the app and not currently working, the driver’s personal insurance coverage will apply. Minimum insurance limits as required by New York law are as follows:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person (not resulting in death)
  • $50,000 for bodily injury for two or more persons (not resulting in death) and
  • $10,000 for property damage

To account for the gap between Lyft’s insurance coverage and a driver’s personal auto coverage, a Lyft driver may opt to get rideshare insurance through a private company. This can cover a Lyft driver who is in between rides, although many drivers do not want the added expense and choose not to have the added protection.

Pursuing Litigation for a Lyft Accident

If you were another driver, cyclist, or pedestrian who was in an accident with a Lyft driver, then the amount you can recover will depend upon the driver’s status at the time of the crash.

If you decide to initiate a claim, you will be filing it against the rideshare company. The same applies if you decide to sue. In this case, Lyft will be named as the defendant, not the rideshare driver.

Documentation to Support Your Lyft Accident Claim

If you were involved in a Lyft accident, either as a passenger or a third party, it is important that you write down any details pertaining to the accident. Compensation may be available to you in the form of economic and non-economic losses.

If you have to miss work due to any injuries suffered, then you will want to present pay stubs reflecting that income loss. You should also collect and organize any medical bills associated with the accident, including the cost of ambulatory services, surgeries, and doctor’s visits.

Speak with an Albany Lyft Accident Immediately

Lyft accident victims are often entitled to compensation, but you should not attempt to navigate the process on your own. Hiring experienced counsel will allow you to recover the compensation you deserve. If you have fallen victim to a rideshare accident, now is the time to speak with a Lyft accident lawyer. To get started, contact us online or by calling 716-249-2222. We offer complimentary consultations.